Staff Awards

Staff Awards

UMD created the Unit Staff Awards to recognize exceptional service in leadership on the job, customer focus, and quality of service. Performance that merits the award reflects a high level of dedication to the University, campus, unit, and department.

SCSE consistently has a strong turnout of very thoughtful nominations and we encourage people to continue in this effort. In addition to accolades, recipients receive a $250 cash award.

A link to the nomination form will be posted here when available. Award winners are chosen twice a year during the spring and fall semesters.


Fall 2023

  • Jeanne Rydberg
  • Michael Jacob
  • Julia Agnich

Spring 2023

  • Oscar Toftegaard
  • Amy Kireta
  • RaeAnn Jones

Fall 2022

  • Jennifer Johnson
  • Geraldine Hughes
  • Jason Agnich

Spring 2022

  • April Finkenhoefer
  • Carrie Misuraco
  • Sanna Shields

Fall 2021

  • Valerie Coit - Marketing & Communications Professional 2
  • Stormi Davis-Hagadone, Graduate Program Coordinator with the Biology Department
  • Lori Lucia, Office/Admin Services Supervisor with the Computer Science Department

Spring 2021

  • Darrell Anderson – Research Professional 3
  • Michele Hatcher – Student Services Program Specialist 2
  • Frank Maragi – Administrative Associate 3

Fall 2020

  • Betsy Behning, Human Resources Professional, SCSE Dean's Office
  • Alicia Heil, Research Professional 3, Biology Department
  • Connor Pride, Executive Administration Specialist and Graduate Program Coordinator, Mathematics & Statistics Department

Spring 2020

  • Sandy Meints, Financial Professional 3, SCSE Dean's Office
  • Helen Sandwick, Executive Office and Administrative Specialist, Aerospace Studies/AFROTC Program
  • Lisa Sundberg, Maritime Worker 2, Large Lakes Observatory

Fall 2019

  • Julie DeRoche, Executive Office and Administrative Specialist, Chemical Engineering Department
  • Nick Lamon, Research Professional 3, Biology Department
  • Rual Lee, Captain, Large Lakes Observatory

Spring 2019

  • Michael Plante, Lab Services Coordinator, Mechanical and Industrial Engineering Department
  • Sanna Shields, Executive Office and Administrative Specialist, Civil Engineering Department
  • Patty Sutliff-Opoien, Finance Professional 2, Chemistry and Biochemistry Department

Fall 2018

  • Valerie Coit, Communications Specialist, SCSE Dean's Office
  • Cindy Gustafson, Executive Secretary, Mathematics & Statistics Department
  • Mae Siljendahl, Executive Office and Administrative Specialist, SCSE Dean's Office

Spring 2018

  • Kim Becker, Graduate Program Coordinator, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering Department
  • Dawna Carlberg, Executive Secretary, Chemistry & Biochemistry Department
  • Michele Hatcher, Advising Director/Associate to the Dean, SCSE Advising & Academic Services

Fall 2017

  • Barb Sydow, Accountant, Civil Engineering and Mechanical & Industrial Engineering Departments
  • Kathy Stewart, Sr. Office & Administration Service Supervisor, Biology Department
  • Lyndon Ramrattan, Lab Services Coordinator, Chemical Engineering Department