About


You are here

Faculty Teaching Students about Seeds

History of Helping

The UMD Research and Field Studies Center began in 1912 as one of six University of Minnesota Agricultural Experimental Stations across Minnesota. It has a rich history of providing a space for scientific pursuits along with food to benefit the local community.

To learn more about the history of the Center (a.k.a. the UMD Farm):

The Northeast Experimental Station, as it was called initially, was an active center for applied agricultural research, education and technology through 1966, and some activities continued into the mid-1970s. As the focus on 'productivist' conventional agriculture within the US and land grant universities intensified, the UMD Research and Field Studies Center lies was closed in 1976. Administration and ownership of the property was then transferred to UMD.

The grounds included buildings originally used for dairy, chickens and pigs. Three homes were originally part of the homestead, which contained offices and residences. 

Buildings on the grounds now are mainly used for storage of equipment and supplies while the land is used for botanical and sustainable energy research on the part of Swenson College. UMD's College of Liberal Arts also uses the farm as part of their Environment and Sustainability Program that focuses on finding solutions for a more sustainable future.