Nominations Open for Inspirational Teacher Award

ITLS Award visual
February 6, 2018

Students are encouraged to nominate their most inspirational life science teacher.

The Inspirational Teacher of the Life Sciences Award (ITLS) is given annually to a Department of Biology faculty member whose teaching has inspired students to think critically about the biological sciences and has encouraged them to put forth their best efforts.  This award recognizes an individual who, through innovative teaching and personal interactions, has stimulated student interest in Biology and has helped shape student careers.

The ITLS Committee is now soliciting nominations for the 2018 award.  The recipient will give a seminar of their choice at our regular Friday afternoon seminar series this semester.  Members of the Biology Department holding the rank of Instructor, Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, or full Professor are eligible to be nominated.  Previous recipients and Graduate Teaching Assistants are not eligible for this award.  Eligible teachers for 2018 are:

Don Branstrator                      Briana Gross                           Katie Nemeth

Tim Craig                               Amanda Grusz                        Mark Osadjan

Howard Deng                         Randall Hicks                          Tedy Ozersky

Julie Etterson                          Joanne Itami                            Jessica Savage

Briana Gross                           Allen Mensinger                      Cody Sheik

Ron Moen                               Jessica Sieber                          Jared Strasburg

Submit your nomination online via Google Form. Nominations should provide specific details about the person’s teaching methods, courses, and/or ability to inspire interest in one or more aspects of Biology. 

The nomination deadline is February 15th, 2018.